

## LSUHSC FACULTY SENATE RESOLUTION 21-01

HONORING THE LIFE, LEGACY, AND CONTRIBUTIONS OF JOSEPH M. MOERSCHBAECHER, III, PHD

- WHEREAS Joseph M. Moerschbaecher, III, PhD, rose through the ranks of the faculty from an Assistant Professor in the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center (LSUHSC) Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics in 1983 to become the Professor and Head of the Department in 1989,
- WHEREAS, as Department Head he built a vibrant, well-funded and effective department,
- WHEREAS in 1991 he co-founded the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Center of Excellence,
- WHEREAS he was an extensively published, well-funded, multiple NIH grant researcher,
- WHEREAS he was an award winning teacher who always put the education of the students at the forefront,
- WHEREAS he was the longest-serving Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean of the School of Graduate Studies, having been appointed in 1998 and serving the institution, the students, and the LSU System for more than 23 years with integrity and a commitment to academic excellence,
- WHEREAS he served on the board of directors of the New Orleans BioInnovation Center and the Louisiana Cancer Research Center, as well as the long-time Chair of the Louisiana Board of Regents Support Fund Planning Committee.
- WHEREAS he represented LSUHSC in a variety of national organizations and professional societies,
- WHEREAS he was fully engaged in the expansion of the research enterprise, including multiple centers of excellence; the support of innovation; and the nurturing of relationships with governing bodies and other institutions within the LSU System, as well as across the state, nation, and globe,
- WHEREAS he safeguarded students and their families at LSUHSC during Hurricane Katrina, remaining on campus during the storm and afterward, until all could be evacuated,
- WHEREAS he helped maintain the integrity of LSUHSC's academic programs post-Katrina, both in its temporary home in Baton Rouge and upon its return to New Orleans,
- WHEREAS his legacy will live on through the more than 20,000 graduates whose careers he helped shape,
- WHEREAS his dedication to the mission of LSUHSC was foremost, and his dedication to academic goals was unmistakable and unwavering,
- WHEREAS he left an indelible mark on our university, and made enormous contributions to health and science,
- BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Faculty Senate of the LSUHSC recognizes and honors Dr. Joseph M. Moerschbaecher's exceptional, selfless dedication to all of the Schools of the LSUHSC.

Suresh Alahari Rodmistrial R. Allen Larry Bates Rebecca Bealer Marlene Bishop Stephen Brisco Kellie Camelford Rachel N. Chappell Andrew G. Chapple Judy S. Crabtree

- Liv M. Dinoso Tekeda F. Ferguson, *President* Luther C. Gill Jennifer Hart George Hebert Chih-yang Hu John Hunt Ernest James Doug Johnston Sanjay Kamboj
- Susan E. Lee Cathy McAtee Aimme J. McCauley Lee S. McDaniel Evrim Oral Stefany D. Primeaux Christopher M. Taylor Krystal M. Vaughn Elizabeth L. Wisner Xiaoming Xu

Faculty Senate of LSUHSC-NO